
Bridge Topic of the Week

INADVERTENT BIDS

• If you make a bid that is inadvertent (rather than just 
careless), it may be possible for it to be altered without 
penalty.

• Whether or not your pen is still on the bidding pad is 
not relevant.

• The Director will need to decide whether the 
inadvertency provisions applied.

• Inadvertency may still apply even after LHO has called.
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HESITATION

• Hesitation is not an infraction in itself. An infraction 
occurs when their partner is influenced by the 
hesitation in the action they take.

• Hesitation generally reduces the options available to 
partner. They may not take any action that is 
suggested by the hesitation where other logical 
alternatives to that action exist.
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INSUFFICIENT BIDS

• It is never in a player’s interest to:–

a) alter an insufficient bid before the Director has 
advised them of their options;

b) announce to the table what they meant to write.

• Many insufficient bids can be corrected without further 
redress once the Director has assessed the situation.
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ALERTING STAYMAN BIDS

• A response of 2♣ after a 1NT opening bid is not 
alertable in an uncontested auction, no matter what 
the meaning.

• However, normal alerting do rules apply if (a) if the 
opponents have entered the auction, or (b) Stayman or 
similar is used in any other sequence e.g. following a 
2NT opening or a 1NT response.

• Normal alerting rules also apply to all responses to 
Stayman and other asking bids.
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DUMMY

• Dummy can attempt to stop Declarer committing an 
infraction, but cannot be the first to call attention to an 
infraction once committed. 

• For example, if Declarer plays from the wrong hand by 
either calling for a card from Dummy, or playing 
incorrectly from their own hand, Dummy must not 
draw attention to this, as the infraction has occurred.
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MORE ON DUMMY

• Dummy should not play a card until Declarer has called 
for it. This applies even when the card to play is 
obvious, for example, when Dummy has a singleton in 
the suit led.

• Dummy should only touch the cards when playing a 
card nominated by Declarer, or to reorganise them. 
Dummy should not move the cards to fill a space 
created by a suit void, as this is disruptive to Declarer 
and Defenders.
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COUNT YOUR CARDS

• Players should count their cards before looking at 
them.

• If missing or extra cards are discovered once play 
commences, affected players can be disadvantaged. 
For example, a missing card is deemed to be part of 
the hand at all times, and a revoke may have occurred.
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SLOW PLAY

• If the warning bell sounds and the first call has not 
been made on a board, that board needs to be 
averaged.

• The Director will make a decision as to what 
percentage to award to each side, depending where 
responsibility for the slow play lies.
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SYSTEM CARDS

• Both players in a partnership should have identical ABF 
system cards, and these should be made available to 
your opponents at the commencement of each round.

• Systems should be designated as Green, Blue, Red or 
Yellow, and with Brown Sticker where appropriate. If in 
doubt as to the classification of your system, consult 
the Director.
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OPENING LEAD

• The player on lead (Declarer’s LHO) should select their 
opening lead, and place it face down on the table in 
front of them. Their partner should then acknowledge 
that it can be faced. This minimises the possibility of 
making an opening lead from the wrong hand.

• Once placed on the table, the card cannot be changed 
without the Director’s consent, even though it may not 
have been faced.
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REVOKE

• When attention is drawn to a revoke, the Director 
should be called. They will determine whether it is 
established on not.

• If the revoke is established, the Director will determine 
rectification after the play of the hand is completed. 
There are statutory trick adjustments laid down in the 
laws that cannot be reduced, but the Director can 
award more tricks to the non-offenders if more 
damage has been caused by the revoke.
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PSYCHE BIDS

• A psyche bid is “a deliberate and gross misstatement 
of honour strength and/or of suit length”.

• Psyche bids should be reported to the Director by the 
psycher or their partner, and if the Director agrees that 
it is a psyche, it will be recorded in the Club’s Psyche 
Register.

• Partnerships that have a track record of psyches may 
need to modify their system card accordingly.
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PENALTY CARDS

• Whenever a card, other than the card being played, is 
accidentally or intentionally exposed by a defender, it 
becomes a penalty card. The Director must be called 
when this occurs.

• Whether it is a minor or major penalty card will be 
determined by the Director. Player obligations differ 
depending which it is, and the Director will inform the 
table of everyone’s rights and obligations.
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CALL THE DIRECTOR

• Whenever an infraction occurs at the table, you must 
call the Director.

• Players cannot make their own rulings. If they do, the 
Director has the right to have players forfeit rights to 
rectification they would otherwise have had.



Bridge Topic of the Week

CLAIM BY DECLARER

• When a claim is made by Declarer, they must state 
their proposed line of play. This should make mention 
of any outstanding trumps (e.g. “drawing trumps”), 
and how they plan to travel between hands if relevant. 

• A careless or incomplete claim may cost you tricks that 
you would otherwise make.

• Claims should be made where possible - it is 
discourteous to continue play when the outcome is 
certain.
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CONCESSION BY DEFENDER

• When a concession is made by a Defender, their 
partner may dispute it. The director must be called, but 
the concession can be withdrawn and play can 
continue.

• Any comments made by the player in making the 
concession, or any cards exposed in this process, 
remain as Unauthorised Information to their partner.

• The Director should be called if this happens.

• You cannot concede a trick that you can not lose.
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REMOVING AND REPLACING CARDS

• Cards should not be removed from the board until at 
least one player from each side is present.

• This also applies to a sit-out pair – they must not 
remove the cards from boards on the sit-out table.

• Cards must be shuffled before being returned to the 
board.
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QUESTIONS DURING THE AUCTION

• During the auction, at your turn to bid, you may ask 
questions about any part of the opponent’s auction. It 
is unwise to ask about a specific part of the auction, as 
this may convey unauthorised information to your 
partner.

• It is prudent not to ask questions unless the answer 
affects your call.  Showing seemingly unwarranted 
interest in an opponent’s call, particularly an alerted 
one, may pass unauthorised information to partner.
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EXPLANATIONS AFTER THE AUCTION

• At the completion of the auction, the Declarer should 
offer the opponents an explanation of any unusual 
bidding sequences in their auction, especially self-
alerting calls (e.g. doubles, cue bids) that may have an 
unexpected meaning. 

• In any event, it is a good policy for the player on lead 
to request a full explanation of the auction before 
choosing their opening lead.
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RECORDING RESULTS

• When you’re on opening lead, your first priority after 
the auction is to make the opening lead. This should 
be done before entering the contract into the 
Bridgemate or writing on your personal scorer.

• The same applies to dummy – after the opening lead is 
faced, spread your hand before doing anything else.
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WHEN IS A CARD PLAYED?

• For a Defender, a card is played when it could have 
been seen by their partner. It doesn’t matter whether 
or not partner did see it, nor does it matter if Declarer 
saw it. 

• For Declarer, a card is played when it is placed on or 
near the table in the played position. It doesn’t matter 
whether or not a Defender has seen it.
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MIS-INFORMATION

• If your partner makes an incorrect explanation during 
the auction, say nothing at the time, but:
(a) If your side ends up Declaring, you advise the table 
before the opening lead is selected;
(b) If your side ends up as Defenders, advise the table 
at the completion of play of the hand.

• The director should be called if either side may have 
suffered damage.
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ALERTS

• Alerts are made by circling the bid and saying “alert”. 
Saying “alert” minimises the chance of an opponent 
making a bid before you have had a chance to circle 
your partner’s bid.

• Do not explain the meaning of the bid you are alerting 
unless asked by an opponent.
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PRE-ALERTS

• You should pre-alert your opponents to any unusual 
conventions in your system before you commence the 
first board.

• Pre-alerts should always include a statement about 
your general system (e.g. Standard American), and 
should also state your no-trump range.

• In general, pre-alert your opponents about anything in 
your system that they may assume has a different 
meaning, especially self-alerting calls.
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EXPLANATIONS

• When explaining a bid, explain it fully. Don’t just state 
the convention name.

• For example, don’t just explain a Michael’s bid as 
“Michaels”. State “Michaels, showing 5/5 in the other 
major and a minor, less than an opening hand”.

• Don’t explain your partner’s bid unless asked by an 
opponent.
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ASKING ABOUT A REVOKE

• Dummy may ask Declarer about a possible revoke.

• Either Defender may ask their partner about a possible 
revoke.

• The usual form is “No spades, partner?”

• It is not necessary for a player, when showing out, to 
state “having none”, and can indeed be irksome to the 
opponents.
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DECEPTION

• You cannot attempt to deceive an opponent except in 
your bids and cards played. 

• This includes things like deliberating for a few seconds 
before playing a singleton to make an opponent think 
you have a choice or cards to play, or hesitating when 
an opponent is finessing through you in order to make 
them think you have the missing honour.

• Bridge is not poker – bluffing is not allowed!
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SECRET AGREEMENTS

• Your systems and methods must be transparent. Your 
opponents are entitled to know everything about your 
bids and plays that your partner does.

• This includes system agreements as well as matters of 
style, and also any agreed temporary departure from 
the system.

• All players must have systems cards, and opponents 
are entitled to ask questions of the player’s partner 
about bids or plays, and are entitled to a full answer.


